RSS Feed

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine's Day!

Hoping your day is everything you’re wishing for! We had a “Spend the Day with Someone You Love…Your Co-Workers!” party today at lunch hour–SO MANY DESSERTS! too much food, but oh so good!

I don’t expect much tonight…Travis is working, not sure what’s on Brad’s agenda, and my poor husband has a stomach flu!  As we’ve been together nearly 28 years, we don’t do a lot for Valentine’s Day anymore, just a card for each other and a nice dinner sometime other than a holiday!

It was a very weird weekend…lots of ups and downs! We’re mid-way through the phases of the moon–new moon was February 2nd and full moon is February 18th–so that wasn’t it! (I blame everything weird on the phases of the moon!)

Bruce went to Fulton for a Vintage Snowmobile Show (The Great Whiteout) and boy! was it ever! (They display restored snowmobiles from the 60s, 70s & 80s, sort of like a classic car show).  It snowed so much that he couldn’t keep it off the sleds.  He was a bit disappointed but he came home with lots of trophies! So, all in all, not a bad day, just cold and blustery! (A little bit of UPs and DOWNs)

I went to brunch with an old friend of mine at the local Hilton (an UP for the weekend!)–just as we were sitting there finishing up, an elderly lady drove into the side of my Tahoe SUV, then drove off! Long story short, I ran through the parking lot and down the road and got her license plate number (I couldn’t catch her!). She also hit the only nearby car. The police tracked her down and got insurance information. No one was hurt, fortunately, but it was very interesting! Lost a lot of quilting time that day, dealing with the police and the insurance company.

Nevertheless, I did work the rest of the day trying to finish up my New Year’s Eve Mystery Quilt–and spent part of Sunday, too! I had to cut the borders three times because I kept cutting them incorrectly…ugh! (Definitely a DOWN for the weekend!)

I am never too sure when it’s a Mystery Quilt project what it will look like when it’s done, but I think I’m going to like this one. I used all Jo Morton fabrics: gold, red, black, sage green, navy and maroon. It’s going to be a twin-size, so maybe I’ll repaint my quilt room and keep it there; I’ll post pictures later this week.

Bruce had made plans to go snowmobiling on Sunday with some friends, riding just locally on Connecticut Hill (Again, an UP for the weekend!)  He only got about 8 miles and the sled broke, so he was home early (and again, a DOWN for the weekend!)  That was okay, he needed the rest, and he spent most of the day dozing on the couch.  It had been a long week.  That gave me some time to do laundry and work on my quilt.  I also baked cookies for home and for work and made a casserole for the boys.

I spent some time at work last week during my lunch hours cross-stitching my “Houses of Hawk Run Hollow” by Carriage House Samplings. It’s very detailed so it’s easier for me to make those little x’s in the daylight, in my nice spot at the end of the hallway. Here’s a shot of Block 1 and part of Block 2 and what it will look like when it’s completed:

Block 1 & 2, Houses of Hawk Run Hollow

Completed Houses of Hawk Run Hollow, Carriage House Samplings

Once that’s completed, I’d like to tackle “Shores of Hawk Run Hollow”.  What do you think?

Shores of Hawk Run Hollow, Carriage House Samplings

Leave a Reply

