RSS Feed

So, So, Sorry….

Molly (left) and Hailey (right)

I’m so sorry that I haven’t been very diligent about posting…October and November seem to always be difficult months for me. I lost my mom at age 12 on a rainy day in October and never quite got past the sadness on those wet, fall days. We’ve lost others too about this time of the year, and regrettably, this season we had our 12-1/2 year old golden retriever put to sleep. (That’s her on the right; our friends’ lab, Molly, is on the left).  She has suffered for a long time with bad arthritis in her hips, but the vet said her legs had atrophied so that she couldn’t lift her body. She also suffered from some large cysts on her back, one that was punctured when she got into a fight with a rottie. It just never healed and would weep continuously. We did the best we could but I didn’t have the strength to handle it any more…and I don’t think Hailey did either. She had a great summer at the lake, and I know it was the right decision to put her down but it never is easy….

With the cold weather coming, I tend to “cocoon”….but the good thing is that it does give me incentive to spend some time quilting and stitching. I’ve been working on “Sweet Pea Manor”, which was a BOM (block of the month) from my LQS (local quilt shop), Quilter’s Corner in Ithaca. It was almost entirely cut out of Jo Morton fabrics, one of my favorite fabric designers.Here’s a picture of the completed quilt (hanging at Quilter’s Corner) (sorry it’s a little blurry!) and my portions so far.  I have the star blocks and the basket blocks completed but haven’t taken a photo of them yet.  Wish you could see it up close; the colors are so much more vibrant!  I’m not much of a “pink” person but when combined with the oranges and golds (who woulda thunk it???), it’s beautiful!  I think this will probably hang in my sewing room when it’s completed.

Sweet Pea Manor (at Quilter's Corner)

Sweet Pea Manor, Close up of Applique

Sweet Pea Manor, row 1

I’ve set aside “Molly’s Meadow” for the time being.  I plan on hanging that in my dining room when it’s done.  I took a class with Kim Diehl two summers ago for this quilt (wow, so long ago!), only I’m making it using the needle-turn backstitching method, so it’s taken me a might longer than the IMA (Invisible Machine Applique) would have.  Here’s a photo of Kim’s creation:

Molly’s Meadow, with permission to post from Kim Diehl

Here are the steps I use to applique using the backstitching method:

Molly's Meadow Step 3

Molly's Meadow Step 1

Molly’s Meadow Step 2

It’s a bit time consuming, but I love having take-alongs!  I completed these while sitting on the porch at the Lake!  As you can hopefully see, once you join the block with the “checkerboard” blocks, the form circles.

Molly's Meadow Step 4

Molly's Meadow Step 5

Just too cool…Now I need to complete the “checkerboards”, but another day…..

more updates tomorrow…..

3 responses »

  1. Glad to see you back to the blog. You are not alone in being absent from blogging, seems like a lot of bloggers have been gone. Sorry about Hailey, I do understand as I lost my Mc in May of this year. You just never get over losing them. Loved seeing what you are working on!

    Mari

    Reply
  2. So, so sorry to hear of the death of your beautiful golden retriever. It is the very worst part of being a pet-owner. However, you were able to give her the best of lives and then prevent her uneccessary suffering when the time came.
    Fond regards, Sue (in Normandy).

    Reply
  3. Mari,
    So sorry you lost your Mc….the holidays are always tough with the loss of loved ones, even the animals! Stay in touch. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    Eileen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

